Seeing The Beauty In Ourselves

‘She’s so pretty. Why can’t I look like her?’ A line that basically sums up my thoughts when I scroll through the Instagram page of a random pretty girl that I so happen to come across. We live in a (sort of) narcissistic world where we post pictures of ourselves online for others to see and to judge. Not that there is anything wrong with that but with social media like Instagram, it is so easy for us to compare ourselves to other people that we see online

I never thought of myself as attractive or even pretty. Growing up, no one has ever commented about how pretty or how attractive I am so I just assumed that I’m just too plain-looking to be considered attractive or pretty and my lack of romantic relationship does not help either. Not that I needed anybody else’s validation to make me feel good about myself but it is definitely nice to hear someone else compliment you about the way you look. Not too long ago I started a new job. At my new job, co-workers kept coming up to me and saying how pretty I am. I didn’t really know how to react as I wasn’t used to compliments like these so I just sort of awkwardly stood there and smiled at them. When I went home after that, I looked at myself in the mirror thinking that by some miracle I suddenly looked like Adrianna Lima overnight and that’s why people are complimenting me. But it wasn’t Adrianna Lima’s stunning blue eyes and high cheekbones staring back at me, it was just me. The same me that I saw in my mirror yesterday. The same me that I never considered pretty. At that point, looking at my own reflection in the mirror I still don’t see pretty. I even remembered thinking ‘How am I even pretty? Do those people at work really think that I was pretty? Or were they just joking?’.

Why don’t we ever think we’re pretty or handsome or good-looking enough? Are our brains somehow wired to think that we are ugly when we’re actually not? Or is it because we let ourself get ‘brainwashed’ by society’s definition of beauty?’ It is so easy for us to think that someone else is pretty or handsome or attractive but when it comes to ourselves, we hate the way we look and wished we looked like someone else. I know that we are our own worst critique but is it really that difficult to think that we are beautiful or pretty without having other people telling us that? Sure, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder and we all have very different definitions of what we think is beautiful or attractive. The way we look may not be our definition of beautiful but that doesn’t mean that we’re not beautiful. I think we all need to start changing the way we think and the way we see ourselves. Sure, those girls on Instagram are pretty and gorgeous and flawless etc but so are we. We need to stop comparing ourselves to others and start embracing and loving the way we look and the way we are. I know it is easier said than done but we got to start somewhere right? Because at the end of the day, no matter how insanely beautiful or attractive you are, it is what’s on the inside that matters the most.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

