Oscars 2017: Awards, Tuxedos and Couture Dresses

It’s the day of the Oscars and you know what that means; Celebrities walking down the red carpet in their beautiful gowns and tuxedos as cameras flash capturing their every move. Actors, actresses, directors and all the people who were involved in the nominated movies getting recognized for their film. It’s a night filled with happiness, maybe a little bit of sadness (Sorry La La Land), awards and couture dresses. The Oscars is basically prom for celebrities.

I’m not going to pretend that I watched the award ceremony. I haven’t even watched the movies that we nominated, though it’s all on my ‘movies to watch’ list. However there’s just something so glamorous and prestigious about the Oscars that you can’t help but keep up with it on social media. Honestly, I can’t remember the last time I actually sat down and watch an award show live. Nowadays, I just ‘watch’ it on my twitter timeline. You won’t even miss a thing with millions of people updating every minute and every second of the award show.

As someone who loves movies and has some experience in filmmaking, its nice to see the hard work of the people, other than the actors and actresses, being recognized. The people behind the scenes are just as important as the people in front of them. So it’s always good when the people working behind the scenes get some love and recognition for the work that they’ve done.

Can I just say that how happy I am that Emma Stone and Viola Davis won Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress respectively! These are two amazing actresses and women whom I admire and its good to see them getting recognized for their work. And how amazing is it that Viola Davis is the first black woman to have won an Oscar, a Tony and an Emmy!? She’s such an amazing actress and human being and I can’t think of anyone who deserves it more than her. And can we also talk about how Mahershala Ali being the first Muslim actor to win an Oscar. It’s definitely great to see how diverse the nominees were at this year’s Oscar.

Even though award giving is great and all but my favorite part of award shows is definitely the red carpet. I love logging onto my twitter account and seeing pictures of all the beautiful gowns and dresses. It is times like this that I wish I was a super famous Hollywood actress. I mean, the things I would do to wear one of those dresses. Since pictures speak more than a thousand words, I’ll leave pictures of my favorite looks from this years’ Oscars.

P.S. Don’t even get me started on the red carpet for the Oscar Vanity Fair Party. The dresses are even more amazing and the party is even more glamorous (if that’s even possible). The Vanity Fair Party is basically couture heaven.

3194

Emma Stone wearing Givenchy 

gallery-1488152648-taraji-p-henson-oscars-2017

Tara P. Henson in Alberta Ferretti

hailee-sienfield

Hailee Steinfeld wearing Ralph Russo

gettyimages-645629942

Karlie Kloss in Stella McCartney

3712

Viola Davis in Armani

89th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

Chrissy Teigen in Zuhair Murad

rs_634x1024-170226153547-634-andrew-garfled-2017-oscars-awards

Andrew Garfield in Tom Ford

brie-larson-oscar-de-la-renta-dress-oscars-2017

Brie Larson wearing Oscar de la Renta

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

